is 35 Kilometres north of Nagappattinam abutting the Bay of Bengal. The
Danes landed at this place in 1620 AD. It was already a pre-existing
village, when the Danes landed. This is borne out by the temple on the
seashore , which is crumbling now due to the sea ingress. Maravarama
Sundarapandian, a later Pandya King, constructed this temple called the
Masilamani Natha temple in 1305 AD. The Danes constructed fortifications
on the coast at Tranquebar. This was the only busy trade centre on the
Coromandal coast for the Danes. This fort was a busy trade centre till
1845 AD when the Danes handed over the fort to the English. It was used
as a Public Works Department Travellers Bungalow for government servants
and colonials till 1977 AD. This fort was declared as a protected
monument by the Department of Archaeology, Government of Tamilnadu in
Other places of
Interest at Danish Port
Built in 1620 exists to exhibit Danish architecture. The fort is now
under the control of TamilNadu Archeological Department, houses an
archaeological Museum. This museum is open on all days except Friday.
It was built in 1701.It was renovated in 1782-84.
It was built in 1792 on Danish Architectural style, and renovated
recurring by ASI.
Masilamani Nathar Temple
This Temple built in 1305 A.D by Maravarma Kulasekara Pandiyan exhibits
outstanding architectural skills.
Danish Governor Bungalow
This building got its name as it was used as residence of Danish
Governor in 1784.
Bus facilities are available to this place from Nagapattinam,
Mayiladuthurai, Poompuhar, Sirkali and Chidambaram.
This paper documents the
restoration and conservation of southern portion of the Danish Fort (Dansborg)
at Tranquebar in Nagapattinam District, Tamilnadu. This fort was
constructed in 1620 AD and was badly in need of conservation. The
restoration was done according to archaeological principles. It involved
a Participatory Approach involving the local people, a group of Danes
called the Friends of Tranquebar Society, State and Central Government
agencies and even private companies. This was the first such large scale
work undertaken under the auspices of the State Department of
Archaeology & Museums in its history. The restoration was a success
judged by the feedback received from the local people as well as the
national and international attention it received.
The Danes constructed a
big wall all around the settlement of Tranquebar, which they modelled
after small European towns of the 17th Century AD. The Land Gate with
wooden doors was the way leading to Kings Street was constructed during
1792 AD. King's Street is the main street in this small settlement. The
Dansborg, the Danish fort built by Ove Gedde in 1620 AD.