Se Cathedral: The
largest of the churches in Old Goa, it is in the Portuguese-Gothic style with a Tuscan
exterior and Corinthian interior. Its bell is one of the oldest in Goa and is called the
Golden Bell. (Gallery timings: 9 am to 12.30 pm & 3 pm to 6.30 pm.)
Convent and Church of St Francis
Assisi: This old church has carved woodwork and old murals depicting the file of St
Francis. The floor is made of gravestones carved with the coat of arms of families going
back to the 16th century. Open from 9 am to 12.30 pm & 3 pm to 6.30 pm. The
archaeological museum is open Saturday to Thursday , 10 am to 5 pm.
Basilica of Bom Jesus: This contains the tomb and mortal remains of St Francis
Xavier who was on a mission to spread Christianity in the Portuguese colonies of the East.
The Professed House is next to the basilica and is a two-storeyed laterite building
covered with lime plaster. Open from 9 am to 12.30 pm & 3 pm to 6.30 pm.
Church of St Cajetan: This church was built by Italian friars who were sent to
the kingdom of Golconda to preach Christianity. Since they were not allowed to work in
Golconda, they settled in Old Goa in 1640.
Church of St Augustine Ruins: This church, constructed by Augustinian friars,
was abandoned in 1835 due to the repressive policies of the Portuguese government.
Other buildings of interest in Old Goa are the Chapel of St Anthony, the Chapel of St
Catherine and the Church of Our Lady of the Rosary.
Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception: This is Panaji’s main
church where Portuguese sailors gave thanks to Our Lady for a safe
Goa State Museum: This is near the bus stand in Panaji. (Open from 9 am to 1.15
pm and 2 to 5.30 pm, Mondays to Fridays). It has a collection of Christian art and Hindu
and Jain sculpture and Indian paintings of different styles.
Chapel of St Sebastian,
Fontainhas: This is famous for its striking crucifix which was originally in the
Palace of the Inquisition in Old Goa.
The Secretariat: This has an interesting history. It was originally a palace of
the Adil Shahi dynasty of Bijapur.
Terekhol Fort: This is a beautiful old Portuguese fort at Terekhol and houses
the Hotel Tiracol Fort Heritage.
Rachol Seminary and Church: This is worth visiting for the Museum of Christian
Art which has a rare collection of textiles, silver and articles once used in the churches
of Old Goa. (Open Tuesday to Sunday 9.30 am to 12.30 am & 2.30 pm to 5 pm.)
Braganza House: This is one of the colonial mansions now thrown open to the
public and is furnished with antiques.
Bondla Wildlife Sanctuary: This is the smallest of Goa’s
sanctuaries, and is the easiest to reach. Bookings should be made in
advance at the office of the Department of Forestry in Panaji.
Molem & Cotigao Wildlife Sanctuaries: These are larger than Bondla Sanctuary
but you will need your own transport to get there. Accommodation is available at Molem but
not in the Cotigao Sanctuary.
Dudhsagar Falls: A one-day trip from Margao, you can get to the Falls and back
to Margao by late afternoon.
Shri Bhagwati Temple: (28 km from Panaji.) This temple is more than 500 years
old. The festival of Dussera is celebrated with gaiety here.
Shri Shantadurga Temple: This temple, dedicated to the goddess of peace, has a
pagoda-like structure and a roof made of long slabs of stone. The annual carnival held
here is well worth attending to see the blend of Christian and Hindu cultures.
Shri Mangesh Temple: This interesting Shiva temple is at Priol Ponda Taluka,
about 22 km from Panaji.