|The first recorded
discovery of this now popular hill station of Nainital, was in 1841 when a British,
Mr. Barron, chanced upon the lake. Moved by the scenic beauty of the lake and thickly
forested hills, he constructed a house named Pilgrims Cottage. It was the first of
many residences, which were to transform Nainital into a popular resort. By 1858, Nainital
became a well-known hill station, and within a few years the summer seat of the provincial
According to local
belief the origin of Nainital harks back to mythological times. Sati, Lord Shivas
consort committed suicide at the yajna of Daksha Prajapati. When Lord Shiva roamed across
the universe carrying her dead body, Satis eye fell near the lake, where the Naina
Devi temple now stands. The waters of the lake are therefore considered sacred and the
Naina Devi temple is the venue of an autumnal fair. In ancient times, the lake was know as
the Tri-rishi Sarovar, the lake of three rishis-Atri, Pulastya and Pulaha.
Prior to 1839, the valley was covered
by thick forests and inhabited by hill tribesmen. A major landslide in 1880 led to the
formation of the flats, the level ground by the lake, where a variety of entertainment
awaits the traveler. Nainitals attractions range from quiet walks in meadows the
forests of pine and deciduous, the adventure sports as well as popular entertainment. This
hill resort can be enjoyed at any time of the year.
- Area : 11.7 Sq. km.
- Population : 30,951
- Altitude : 1938 meters
above sea level.
- Season : March
June, mid September October
- Clothing: Summer -
Light Woolens; Winters - Heavy Woolens
- Language : Hindi,
English & Kumaoni.
- Local Transport :
Rickshaws, Dandies, Ropeway, Ponies, Taxis.
- STD Code : 05942