|Destination Type: Cities|
The Mysore Palace (Amba Vilasa) : The Palace was built in 1912, at a cost of Rs.41.50 lakhs in the Indo-Saracenic style, a combination of Hindu and Saracenic features. The construction of new palace was started in 1897, after the old wooden palace was caught in an accidental fire .Henry Irwin was the architect, and E.W. Fritchley worked as consulting Engineer. The elevation is composed of intricately detailed and variegated elements-a ;profusion of rounded and slightly carved arches, canopies, slender columned colonnades, some with Hindu features in Rajput style, the intricately executed multiple mouldings, marble architraves, stained glass pavilion, durbar halls, panels, fine carvings of birds, foliage, animals in Hoysala style.
Jagan Mohan palace : The huge pavilion at the front has been used for holding meetings of the Representative Assembly and the convocation of the University of Mysore. The installation of Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV took place in this pavilion in 1902, attended by Lord Curzon, the then Viceroy and Governor-General of India. The Royal family lived in this palace till the construction of the new Amba Vilas Mysore Palace in 1912. Built in 1861 by Mummadi Krishnaraja Wodeyar, the building is in predominantly Hindu style.
Lalith Mahal Palace : Designed by E.W. Fritchley, a much patronized Bombay-based architect of those days, the building was built in 1931 at a cost of Rs. 13 lakhs as a guest house for European visitors of the Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV. The building is a majestic two-storey composition of twin Ionic columns, a projecting porch on the ground floor, spherical domes, the circular entrance hall, domination central dome, stained glass embellishment present a regal touch.
Devaraja Market : The market architecture is characterized by a pleasing variance of facade styling and ornamentation with open space designed for easy purchase of fruits, vegetables, flowers and the like. Situated of Sayyaji Rao Road, which was laid over the filled nala (canal), which at one time ran across it, the Devaraja market has shops with meticulously styled frontages and gables. Devaraja Market formed in 1900 now has 722 shops.
Crawford Hall : Built in 1947 to house the Mysore University Offices, the buildings exhibits a grand look with Corinthian open arched verandahs, columns, a heavy multiple moulded entablature, and a plaster-relief picture of Goddess Saraswathi of the central block. Franking wings at two levels have details of balustrade and pierced parapets, Roman arches and Tuscan double columns.
Circle of Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV : The Circle is named in memory of Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV who ruled Mysore from 1902-40. The marble statue of the Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV was prepared by Sculptor R.P. Kamath. The circle was inaugurated by Sir M. Visveswaraiah on 16th October 1952.The canopy, and the arched columns present Indo-Saracenic style.
Deputy Commissioner’s office : Built in 1895, it is situated inside the Gordon Park, and dedicated to Sir James Gordon (the Resident of Mysore), whose statue is erected opposite to it. The two storey building with a huge hall served as the venue of Representative Assembly till 1923 and now houses the Deputy Commissioner’s office. With its octagonal dome, with an unusually double-bulb finial resting on a elaborately composed square drum, arches of different shapes, with Corinthian pilasters, and open verandahs leading into high ceiling, inner rooms and halls, represents a typical European-classical style of public buildings.
Government House : This is a typical European- classical structure built in 1805, as the Residency building. The design of the original part of the building described as ‘Tuscan Doric’ was done by Colonel Wilks, the then acting Resident. In plan, the structure consists of a landscaped central atrium with a Tuscan-columned arcade. A three-bayed large banquets hall, a semi-circular ball room of high arched openings, projecting portico, variety of furniture and decorations present a majestic look.
Circle of Chamaraja Wodeyar X : Situated in front of palace north gate, the plan of statue-base is square in composition with Dilwara – styled carved brackets of elaborate design supporting sloping sun-shades. The ribbed dome crowning the canopy is dazzling gilded and distinctly Indo-Saracenic. The marble statue of the Maharaja Chamaraja Wodeyar IV prepared by Robert W. Colton of the Royal Academy was created in 1920.The statue was erected in centre of the Curzon Park which was earlier comprised of houses and moat. It is said that the moat portion of the fort were filled in and laid out as a park for the installation of Maharaja Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV.
Silver Jubilee Clock Tower : The 75ft.Square tower in Indo-Saracenic style, with a curvilinear chajja provides a Rajasthani touch to the domed canopy. The 5ft diameter of the c
Visit Somnathpur Temple , Namdroling Nyingmapa Monastery & Sri Chamarajendra Zoological Gardens,Mysore Zoo
Sign up for our mailing list to get latest updates and offers.