Thoothukudi This town is 600 Kms from the State Capital Chennai and the District Head Quarters of Thoothukudi District. Fishing, Pearl Harvesting, Salt Production are the main occupation of this area. This is also called as the Pearl City because of the availability of rich pearls under the sea here. District has a Population of 17,50,176 [2011 census] and the Town’s population is 2,37,830 [2011 census]. This was called as Tuticorin earlier. The special feature of this town is the natural harbour. This port has a pre-independence significance : V.O.Chidambaram Pillai, popularly called as VOC , a noted freedom fighter, who set sail the first Indian ship from Thoothukudi to Colombo port, protesting against the British Supremacy.
Apart from being a commercial Center, this is an exotic Tourist Attraction for its sunny and sandy beaches. Tiruchendur, Ettayapuram, Panchalnkurichi, Kulasekarappattinam, Manapad, Puliyampatti, Deivaseyalpuram and Korkai are few religious and historically important places around this town.
By Air : The Nearest Airport is Tuticorin Airport
By Rail : The Nearest Railway Station is Tuticorin (TN), Tuti Melur (TME), Milavittan (MVN)
By Road : You can easily get regular buses to Thoothukudi from other major cities of the country.
Sankara Rameswarar Temple : This temple dedicated to Lord Siva, is a popular religious center. The pilgrims travelling to Tiruchendur, takes a dip at the holy tank called Vancha Pushkarani in this temple. This is where, it is believed, that Lord Siva defined Pranava-Mantra to Goddess Parvathi and this place is called as Thirumanthira Nagaram.
Hare Island : This island is located near the port. Both locals and tourists from outside visit this island for leisure. PONGAL festival [January] holidays attracts thousands of Tourists to this Island. Special transport facilities are arranged for the tourists.
Roche Park : It is just 4 kms from the Town, on the way to the Port and ideal place for holiday seekers. Festival Holidays and Weekends attract large number of tourists.
Church of Lady of Snow : This church was earlier called as St.Paul’s Church and was built in the year 1540. Statue of Our Lady reached Tuticorin from Manila in the year 1555. On 5th August 1582 a new church was built and dedicated to “Our lady of Mercy”. Since Rome celebrates feast of Mother of Snows on this day, this church celebrates the annual feast here on the same day. The church was later called as the “Church of our Lady of Snows”. The existing new church complex was opened on the 05th August 1713. Pope John Paul II raised the shrine to the status of Basilica in the year 1982. The present church celebrated its 300th year of existence on 5th August 2013.
Suganthi Devadason Marine Research Institute : This Marine Research and Higher Education institute, was established by Mr.D.G.Rajan, popular industrialist and a social worker. The Suganthi Devadason Trust was established in the year 1998 to meet out the research needs of marine and coastal ecosystems in India. This Institute promotes Higher Education in Marine Science and assists in the socio-economic conditions of the coastal population. This Institute is affiliated to the Manonmaniam Sundaranar University.
Kazhugumalai , Kulasekarapattinam Mutharamman Temple, Kovilpatti & Shenbagavalli Amman Temple